QFMR: Why do some people have Faith and some people do not?

I follow a couple of bloggers that are wonderful people – although, I don’t know them personally, I really enjoy the things they post. These women, I follow, discuss their faith and are unashamed to show their faith when writing. Certainly, they have struggles, but the joy they have when dealing with these struggles is amazing.  I told one of them today, in fact, that I am amazed by her faith.

I don’t have that faith. I lost it (R.E.M. is now playing in the recesses of my mind). I felt like I had it at one time, but I lost it. I can’t find it. The essence of this blog is horribly stricken with an obvious need for a Higher Power, but I can’t do it…I don’t understand myself, let alone faith.

But tonight, I’m questioning – I’m not tortured like I have been, before, but I am deeply in need of this answer:

==========================================================================

Why do some people have faith and some do not?

Where does faith come from?

56 thoughts on “QFMR: Why do some people have Faith and some people do not?”

  1. It is something in your heart. I cannot find it in God in and Church at the moment, but I believe in fortifying my future, accomplishing my goals, and growing as a person I will find it again. It’s in you. It’s faith in yourself and what you can do in this world. That’s what I believe has happened to me, I hope you find it too my friend. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Faith is simply believing in a power much higher than self…. this is most evident when spending time in and observing nature, as well as contemplating the expanse of the Universe

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ‘Faith is the substance of things hoped for.’ That’s what I was taught religiously for 40+ years. Turned out that faith, like everything else in life, gets tested.

    Who’s giving the test? Haven’t seen him/her/it. I guess we’ll all find out at graduation 👨‍🎓

    Liked by 2 people

      1. ‘Cause I sure don’t get the full picture now. And the tests are doozies. The fact that you question, is to me, a sign of hope/faith in that quest for ‘evidence of things unseen’ (the rest of that memory verse).

        Liked by 2 people

  4. That’s a good question. One I don’t have a good answer to. I think it’s just something you feel. Like there’s got to be a higher power, that this couldn’t happen, all of this, with the emotion and appreciation for beauty and love, out of randomness. I just don’t believe it’s ALL by happenstance, aligning of the stars, or solely scientific, though I do believe in the science as well.

    I can only speak for myself. And I almost never speak of my spiritual views or opinions, so this is rare. I’m not religious, in the sense that I need a church, a building. I carry it with me, in a spiritual sense. I don’t have any qualms about praying, talking to God, or even yelling at God. Maybe I’m wrong, but I speak to God like I would a friend…with a little less salty language, mind you. And I openly question things during those talks. I ask for peace. I ask for peace and watchful hands for others. But I don’t go to church. My relationship with God is monogamous. It’s between us. And it’s not something I was “taught”. The stories and parables and hymns are taught, of course. But the belief? You feel it or you don’t, I think.

    Maybe it’s naive. Maybe Nietzsche was right. Maybe Buddhist’s are right. Maybe Hindu’s are right. None of us TRULY know. But at the core, there’s something there. Right?

    Liked by 2 people

      1. What do you think? What do you believe? I know you’re a scientist, but do you believe solely in the science? Do you believe in a higher power of any sort? Your answer likely lies somewhere in there. And I don’t think it’s unusual to doubt, to question. I have. A lot. I suspect even the most ardent and devout have moments of questioning. Do you feel bad because you don’t have that or because you’ve been conditioned to feel bad if you don’t?

        Liked by 1 person

              1. I don’t know, man. It’s such a personal thing to each individual. It’s nearly impossible to “make” someone spiritual. Like I said, I think it’s just something one feels. Good luck in your search. I hope you’re able to find your answer. 😊

                Liked by 1 person

  5. Some people find it hard to believe in something they cannot verify with their sense; we take it on faith that there’s a supreme being and life after death although it can’t be proven; we take it on faith that the Bible tells us the truth about these particular things (another stuff as well).

    You’re either gonna believe this… or you aren’t. You can have faith in a person… or have no faith in them at all. You can even have faith in yourself… or none at all. If you have reason not to believe something is true, then it’s said that you have no faith or trust in whatever is supposedly or reportedly true.

    Faith is confidence, belief, obligation, and/or trust – and not all faith is about religion.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Some of us with faith are not happy, I think ‘happy’ is a feeling. I am content in my God. I know where He is and where I am. I am at peace knowing who I am and where I am in His scheme. I am NOT happy with not knowing what will happen with mum or if I’ll ever get back to my family. I know, deep down, He will take care of things. I grew into my faith thru a great many other faiths. Not all of it is ‘biblical’, I think my God understands. He understands seeking and wondering and being curious. Being brought up in a strict religion, we’ve sort of muddled into and out of the idea of God. Steph, there is a kid song about us being ‘a promise, a possibility with a capital P’. Rest and be content in who you are. And when you see that bird on the wing, know faith isn’t making it fly. Science and creation are. (or at least, this is what I think!)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Those are great questions. For me, faith is something I’ve built upon. …I don’t always feel it though. When I’m in fear mode I definitely don’t feel it. But when I’m not in a fearful place I connect to the idea that Spirit/Creator/God is loving me, helping me, and communicating with me. In fact I think He always is, but my reception to it dulls. Each experience though that I can’t explain (any miracle, even small) cements my faith that I’m on the right track having faith. …I’ve done this experiment before, maybe try it?…ask for signs from your higher being/God to show you He’s there. Then pay attention. I’ve even felt it in stop lights! I asked for a sign one time while driving and all of the sudden every light was green for miles until I got home. I think just starting the dialog is a good place to start. 🙂 See what happens.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have wondered how/why some people have faith and others do not. I have a lot of trouble buying into anything that I can’t prove… logically, intellectually. It’s hard for me to believe in things… even myself. I don’t have faith even in myself, I guess. And religiously/spiritually? I’ve got nothing. I hate when people say, “god has a plan,” because if god has a plan, it’s to make me miserable. Then apparently, I’m not looking at things the way I should which is why I don’t believe… why I don’t have faith. Kind of feels like I’m doing something wrong because people who just believe no matter what aren’t quite as unhappy as I tend to be. But I really don’t know how to just have faith. There’s no logic! Ahh… I’m not helpful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, you’re more helpful than you might realize. I despise the “God has a plan” explanation, because I can’t grasp why God would make that plan such a mystery…wouldn’t it be helpful to make me aware of that plan and allow me a question and answer period to make sure I completely know the expectations?
      Yes, I struggle with that, as well.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I saw a headline the other day that stated scientists have proven that our souls don’t die – they go on. Actually, I enjoy the philosophy of science…and so many people that claim our personalities and souls are nothing more than electrical impulses in our brains. Electricity is a form of energy – and by the law of conservation of energy, it means our “electrical souls” cannot be destroyed – only change forms. Likewise, however, it cannot be “created” either, so there might be some credibility to the idea of reincarnation….don’t you think?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I feel validated! I think my analytical mind (though also creative which they tell me is unusual) has trouble taking a leap of faith with respect to anything. I need facts! I really like this electric impulse explanation.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Well..lol…don;t get me started on the idea that it is impossible to prove the existence or prove there is a lack of existence of God…I go on and on about Schroedinger’s cat and the Heisenberg Uncertainty principle.
              Maybe I’ll write a book…lol

              Liked by 1 person

              1. What happens with me is… I believe the “no” or the “negative” side of things unless proven otherwise. I think I’m the opposite of “innocent until proven guilty”… my brain is more like “guilty until proven innocent.” So, no faith or believe without proof, you know?

                Liked by 1 person

                1. I understand that…
                  I remember my dad telling me once, that I probably struggle with faith because I rely on science so much. At first I was offended – “How dare he say that?!?!?! How dare he suggest I don’t believe…?!?!?!”
                  And then I was like, “How can you possibly prove otherwise???”

                  Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s not about faith, I don’t think. Faith is just another word for lying to yourself about what you really believe. You can’t have faith in what you don’t know to be true. Really, what you might want to think about is the nature of what you know. There is no such thing as knowledge, really, only sensory experience and belief. And schizophrenics, for example, even sense things that others can’t perceive.

    When you get to the limits of what can be sensed with the physical body, you begin to start delving deeper into yourself for the purpose of sensing from a darker, deeper place. This is when you begin to see patterns in the world around you… how people who think a certain way behave a certain way, how people who read certain books have similar perspectives on environmentalism. Eventually, it becomes clear that certain ideals, or concepts, are what the world is organized around. Another term for concept, one might say, is “word”. “And the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” There are many names for God, all of which represent certain concepts (Yahweh, Jehovah, Adonai, Shekhinah). In the end, it comes down to the mind and thought, not blind faith in anthropomorphic deities, which is why I practice Buddhism.

    Hope this helped. Thanks for persevering with your blog, your honesty and courage keep me inspired. Namaste.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know you’ve answered on my blog before, and I am always enthralled with the answers you give – profoundly thought provoking. And it makes me think and contemplate even more. Thank you!

      Like

  10. I’m not much of an evangelical person and my faith hasn’t been strong but I just watched ‘Case for Christ’ on Sunday and there was one profound line in the movie that really struck me – it takes faith to believe that god is real, but it also takes faith to believe is not real. I’m not sure if when you talk about faith, you are talking about faith in God or a higher power, but I thought I would offer that up in case it was helpful or insightful.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I used to have faith. I used to be a Christian, even went to theology school and led the worship team. But I’m glad I “got out of it”. It was a huge burden lifted from my shoulders. Long story.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I have what I consider a questioning and skeptical faith. I believe it very human to look for and find meaning. If doing so helps me reframe difficulties and love myself and others better, then I’ll use that belief to further good whether or not it is supported (yet) by science or reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m a little late here Tar….life has been so busy. I’ve often wondered the same thing you’re asking here. I was raised by a southern baptist family. I believe in God and pray often. I do not go to church much but on occasions like Mother’s Day or my Mom’s birthday I visit. I guess I have a faith because I know without it I wouldn’t have come this far. It’s just instilled in my heart/mind. No, I’m not perfect, not a bible thumper or push it on anyone. In fact, you know well that I’m a very bad girl and use the F word just about in every sentence. But, I feel that God loves me anyways. He loves all of us no matter what we do, how we live, etc. etc. That’s just the way that I think anyways. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lennon, I don’t think you dropped one F bomb in this comment….lol I’m teasing, of course.

      I think my problem is this: I over think EVERYTHING. And so, I worry if I’m doing the right thing or not, I worry if I’m living the right way or not. Make sense?

      Liked by 1 person

  14. “Faith is not a leap in the dark; it’s the exact opposite. It’s a commitment based on evidence… It is irrational to reduce all faith to blind faith and then subject it to ridicule. That provides a very anti-intellectual and convenient way of avoiding intelligent discussion.” – Professor John Lennox, professor of mathematics at Oxford University.

    Everybody has faith. I have faith in God. I also have faith in my husband. I have faith in science. I have faith in my family. Surely you must have some faith?

    Much love.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. “Faith is not a leap in the dark; it’s the exact opposite. It’s a commitment based on evidence… It is irrational to reduce all faith to blind faith and then subject it to ridicule. That provides a very anti-intellectual and convenient way of avoiding intelligent discussion.” – Professor John Lennox, professor of mathematics at Oxford University.

    Everybody has faith. I have faith in God. I also have faith in my husband. I have faith in science. I have faith in my family. Surely you must have some faith?

    Much love.

    Like

  16. I went through what you’re going through, & I actually stopped going to church, I found it again. Faith is learning & faith is growth, faith is believing that whatever you pray for has been answered before you can see it. Its believing it without actually seeing it right in front of you..

    Like believing that God is with you right now without actually seeing Him, you’ll start to feel His presence.

    You use Bible verses to back up your belief, “I am with you always” is a verse that you can use to back up believing God is with you.

    Its practice.. It doesn’t come naturally to believe before you see, but with practice comes results!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Faith is just another english word. Bt what meaning you want to give it is upto you. You give meaning to your life by having the faith that everything will come up. You just need to have that one belief in yourself to see faith doing its job. Have faith. Universe is listening.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

