BYJ: Day 29 – Speak Positively

This section of my Beautiful You Journal is focused on gossip and the need to change that and speak positively about others in stead of speaking negatively.  Honestly, this is a continuation of Ending the Rivalry that I already addressed, but I like the theme.  The author in the book focused on the idea that a lot of women gain power through gossip (although, I read once that men gossip much more than women), but it’s kind of a false power, I think. The author continues to express that when you speak positively, you are more likely to build a stronger sense of self.

Obviously, this has been difficult for me. I don’t struggle speaking positively about others (although, there are a few people in the world that I find utterly reprehensible), but I struggle finding positivity.  This issue almost strikes the core of who I am in a lot of ways.  Over the past 10 or 15 years, I have been on a negative slide into depression and other negative feelings and emotions.  Granted, I have truly been struggling with it, as most of you know, but I’m trying to keep an open mind. For some reason, however, the word “positive” almost instantly triggers bitterness for me.

It’s something I need to work on, for sure…

6 thoughts on “BYJ: Day 29 – Speak Positively”

  1. I know the feeling. I find it easy to see the positive in other people but in my life – with all that’s been going on – it’s hard to be positive that things will work out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

