Mountain Therapy

20170425_102435

I’ve said it before, but the mountains of Colorado have always pulled at my heart. I haven’t been online much the past couple of days, because I needed a little break. And I find nothing but serenity in the mountains.

20170425_091204

During that time, however, I got the chance to visit Golden Gate Canyon State Park. I’ve been here before, but this time I went because it was close to town and there was already a storm rolling into the state. It’s not so much that I mind rain or snow, but I just wanted to relax and refresh my mind. I wasn’t into a strenuous challenge at all.

The hike was relatively short and covered just about 4 miles round trip. I also walked at a leisurely pace and completed the hike in less than 3 hours. Unfortunately, it reminded me that I’m out of shape. 😊 When I got home, I was exhausted, but I was without stress, without worry and slept wonderfully.

20170425_085637

It made me think, however, about anxiety. Sometimes, I think I have struggled with anxiety and self-esteem my entire life. I often think that when I was a child and my parents took me hiking, I always felt great, but sitting at home always had me worried. Worry and anxiety seems to have manifested itself in me, physically at times – nail biting, fidgeting, worry lines in my forehead (these are really gross, by the way), etc.

I have always found the most peace in being focused on something – reading, learning, doing something with my hands, etc. I have always found the most stress relief in physical activity – martial arts, hiking, lifting weights, playing physical games, sex (granted, not always good for me, but a physical stress relief nonetheless), etc.

But I know one thing is certain: I Love Hiking.

20170425_092523.jpg

39 thoughts on “Mountain Therapy”

        1. Yeah! But I still remember being able to find someplace to hike on a weekend and not running into anyone. Our state has gotten so populated, peace is hard to find. But this time I lucked out and had the entire hike all to myself.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yeah. When we were at RMNP, we went up to walk Bear Lake and there were so many LOUD people (btw tossing trash in the forest) that we just headed back down. After we told the ranger they had some litterbugs messing up our park.

            Liked by 1 person

              1. Oh, T! They were screaming, tossing food wrappers and D yelled at one who was about to toss a cigarette butt off the trail.

                He told him to take that shit back to city.

                Liked by 1 person

  1. I love the mountains too. No place like them. Of course, in my neck of the woods, it’s the Appalachians, but mountains nonetheless. πŸ˜ƒ
    Oh, by the way, for some reason, several of my followed sites became unfollowed. I didn’t even realize it, but noticed many of my faves were not posting. On a whim, I finally checked my list of followed sites and many were marked as not followed. Yours was one of them. I’m following again. Sorry, like many tech glitches, I have zero clue what happened. 😏

    Liked by 1 person

  2. John Muir said: “Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves. “

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love these gorgeous pictures, so scenic! My aunt and uncle live in Colorado, and although I haven’t got to visit often, we did go some. Mostly in the winter time so we could see snow (I live in GA) and ski. I really got good at skiing the bunny hill! But we did go once in the summer time for a brief day or so and I saw how beautiful Colorado was in the summer! Wow! I love the mountains, too! (Although I don’t really like elevation changes on my body.) I think I enjoy the beach and water more (as a dream-place to live, I don’t live near the beach now) but if I had another choice, mountains are breathtaking! I love to walk and hike in nature, as you may know, so I could see that it’s the perfect, beautiful place to do it. Thanks for sharing these pictures. ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

