SARD Part 15 – Damn Co-Dependency!

 

There are some days that have me questioning things.  Today, I’m feeling low…it was such an awesome high, yesterday, that I knew a low was going to follow – it always does.  I am torn about my marriage and I wonder, in some small way, if all I’m doing is trying to run and hide from myself and my responsibilities as a man.  I have such a hard time dealing with myself, when others I deal with aren’t happy with me.  This is so true in my normal everyday dealing with people, that it is no surprise that it is a cornerstone of any romantic/intimate relationship I have. I have so many examples of my codependency.

For example, I had a girlfriend once who cheated on me, and I did everything I could to try and convince her not to cheat on me.  I felt like I must have done something that would make her want to do this.  It must be something I have done, so I apologized for things I happened to be doing wrong.  Granted, they were wrong, but looking at it logically, almost anyone would agree that there is no excuse for cheating. However, I would make her indiscretions my issue, rather than making her accountable to herself (Granted, I did put my hand through her door when she told me…so THAT was childish and wrong). Then you can look at my marriage and there are so many examples of that same behavior, that I wouldn’t even know where to begin.

Granted, my wife has never cheated (Well…kind of…there was that one time when she had a picture of a friend’s penis; and, recently, she began talking to an ex boyfriend and told me she was going to leave me for him, if I didn’t change).  This is not something I can excuse in my behavior, because I have.  And I have made other mistakes, as well – I was wrong for it, and I won’t do that to anyone again.  But for years, previous to that, I had been the victim of domestic violence.  That’s right, I said it…I had been hit by her on several occasions during arguments.  And I’m not talking about a slap across the face (Gawd knows, I have a sarcastic tongue…); no, I’m talking closed fists to my face kind of hits.  I remember her telling me on several occasions, when I expressed I didn’t like that treatment, “If you’d show me some respect, you wouldn’t get hit”. What did I do? I tried to change my behavior to accommodate her needs. I mean, I loved her, so wouldn’t I want to change myself to suit her?  This is just a small taste of the toxicity in my marriage.

In fact, when I began my first WP blog, it was intended to be about my failing marriage – that was almost 5 years ago, when I began blogging on WP.  I have changed myself so much to try and meet her needs, I began to forget who I am.  I expressed in previous postings, that I absolutely changed who I am as a basic individual. I have also come to terms with my sexuality over the past few years.  I truly believe I am bisexual. But something else began to emerge – Stephanie.  I am now questioning this reality. I’m questioning if it is simply another way for me to try and adapt to all of the heartache I feel as man.  Am I really someone that has problems with his identity, or have I been so emasculated through not being appreciated for who I am, that I felt I needed to change everything about myself – including my gender. But I’m questioning so much about the marriage that I am now having doubts about it’s continuance or it’s demise.

Something else happened today that had me questioning if I am even a good person.  Somehow, I inadvertently offended someone on here that I considered a friend.  I won’t go into details, because it’s not fair to discuss it, but she had asked me to unfriend her and has since blocked me.  Now, I’m wondering what I did wrong.  I always feel like there is always something I can do to have prevented a negative situation from occurring.  I look to turn a cheek, I look to explain myself for fear that the other person thinks I mean to hurt them. I look for some way to salvage any wrong -perceived or real.  It’s something I don’t know how to let go and accept that sometimes oil and water really don’t mix.

I feel like a failure when I want to make someone happy and it doesn’t happen…

And now, I begin to wonder again, if I am to blame for my marriage. Am I avoiding some responsibility? Should I be handling my life in a different way? What can I do to make things right? I’m probably only thinking of my needs, wants and desires when I consider my sexuality or consider that I’m not the gender I was born to be.  I start to question all my knowledge of self and wonder if I’m truly fucked up? Maybe when I question all of this, I should be seeking God…or return to my faith and accept that I am all wrong.

I feel like I was happy as a man at one time. I felt at one time I was happy being heterosexual. I felt at one time, I was secure in who I was as a person.  But life happened to me, it happened to me and it made me question everything about myself. Just like today did – and I don’t even know why, because it’s not like I was even close to this “friend” I mentioned above. It shouldn’t feel important. Granted, I have had conversations with a few of you on here and I feel like losing any of those friendships would devastate me, if this one is doing what it is doing now.

But, it made me want to eat this:

choc

At least it’s not a beer, right?

But I know, deep down, this co-dependency thing will be there with me, at all times! I don’t understand when it developed, where it developed or why it developed. I feel like I used to be secure, but somehow it’s like everything else I’m realizing about myself – it feels like it has probably always been there, but has never surfaced until later in life. But there are other things that I began to question after I started feeling co-dependent, so are any of those a reality for me?

11 thoughts on “SARD Part 15 – Damn Co-Dependency!”

  1. There is an ocean liner full of guilt in this post. You can no more bear the full responsibility for the end of your marriage than you can for the holocaust. Seriously. This woman abused you emotionally, and physically. She didn’t deserve for you to stay one second longer than the first punch. And when considering your sexuality, who else’s needs, wants and desires are you supposed to consider? By definition, it is your sexuality. No one else’s. I hope you are able to work through this and recognize that you do deserve to be happy. I think a weight will be lifted once you are away from your wife’s abuse. It may take some time, but I think eventually you will see it.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Everyday give and take, and the compromise that comes with sharing a life with somebody is one thing but the feeling that you have to change your core self to make somebody else happy is entirely another thing. Please love yourself and grow into yourself (and away from anybody that doesn’t appreciate you as yourself), for the sake of your sanity and sobriety. I’m sorry you’re having a hard time at the moment. Take care 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with what Bizarre Love Triangle said. You do not deserve to be abused. Never! If you found out this was happening to one of your female friends, you would tell her to get herself out of that situation immediately! Right? Especially since its a pattern of abuse over a significant length of time. I also wonder how much of an effect this toxic relationship has on all the other issues you’re trying to work through. Perhaps it’s muddying the waters. You’re undergoing so much stress at home that you are projecting it onto all the other aspects of your life – including your own self esteem/ self worth. As for your friend here on WP, wouldn’t a real friend explain what you did to offend? Ask for an apology? Talk it out? 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A real friend would pull you aside and explain how they felt or at least taken a time out to collect their thoughts, not kicked you when you’re down. Don’t be drowning yourself in other’s stuff sweetie, and it is HER stuff. Be thankful she’s shown her colors now and happily say adios bitch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

