Day 25: I had an epiphany!

I can’t make you happy.

I can’t make anyone happy.

No one can make me happy.

Happiness is an internal quality, and it can only be directed outward.

Unhappiness is exactly opposite.

I can do things that make you unhappy.

I can do things that make everyone unhappy.

Someone can make me unhappy.

Unhappiness, always comes from outside of one’s being.

If you are not grateful for my kindness, then that is not because of me. Your inability to see something nice, something kind, something happy, is because of the unhappiness within you.

You control what comes from within you, just like I control what comes from within me. Just because I have allowed unhappy and bitter thoughts to remain inside of me, does not excuse me from pushing those out.

It is my responsibility to allow the darkenss t9 be consumed by happiness, but I cannot force my own happiness upon you,  because it would be coming from outside of you.

Happiness can only come from within…

Day 25. It has been a right, but I had someone tell me today, “I hear the voice of recovery in your words.”

I will make it through another day. I am feeling free, in spite of everything.

 

26 thoughts on “Day 25: I had an epiphany!”

  1. This is great! “You control what comes from within you, just like I control what comes from within me. Just because I have allowed unhappy and bitter thoughts to remain inside of me, does not excuse me from pushing those out.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And so do I. There is a strength and wisdom in your words, a self confidence that no longer allows a victim mentality but that is standing up with the knowledge and being convinced that you got this. I’m very proud of you and you are absolutely right.
    Many people rely on others for happiness and it lies within and is a state of mind. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Been sick (still) but will push through another day as well. Xoxoxoxo

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a wonderful thought. Thank you for sharing! My mom always used to say “Happiness is a choice”. I used to roll my eyes at that. But the older I get, the more I understand what she meant lol! Congrats on day 25!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wise words. Going through something similar at the moment – currently at day 4 and it’s never easy, is it? But it all comes from within us, whatever we want for ourselves comes from within. We can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

