My Last Hiking Trip: A small piece of me.

BL5.jpg

I follow a blogger (She is over at RhapsodyBoheme) that has a love of hiking, like I do (except she has done some backpacking trips – kind of a dream/bucket-list kinda thing for me), and I had mentioned to her that I would share some of my hiking pictures, so this is what I decided to put together: I went hiking last February up to Brainard Lake, a relatively close place to hike near Denver – it was maybe an hour drive to the trailhead. I took snowshoes, because I was really hoping to head into some deep snow, but there were only a few drifts, although the snow covered the ground it was not very deep.

BL6.jpg

I happened to go on a weekday, because the crowds on weekends do not give you a sense of being alone with nature, and being alone with nature is something I truly enjoy. As you can see from a few of these pictures, it was a sunny day, and most of the hike was relatively nice. A little cold, but I used a light jacket and a wool hat to stay warm.  As I came to Brainard lake, with Mt. Audubon in view, I was being hammered with wind. bl3BL1.jpg

The wind never seemed to stop and it was cold. You can imagine as the wind came over the peaks, it was picking up the cold of the snow and bringing it busting into my face. I considered going a little further, but I changed my mind after getting my face blasted with icy snow.  During the summer, there is a road to Brainard Lake that is closed during the winter, and you can see all the snow all around that makes it seem a little bit like a 100% natural setting.  Seeing Mt. Audubon, however, made me want to come back and plan to hike it during the summer months. It’s a popular 13er (a peak above 13,000 ft.) for people to hike and one of the easier ones to do.

I didn’t get a chance to hike much this year, due to my new job and everything, but I do feel like I have some good job prospects that will take me home to my beloved Colorado. And I am hoping to get my snowshoes out this winter and hit some more areas to hike.  One other thing I wanted to share, which I don’t normally do, is a small piece of myself – an actual picture with a little bit of me in it. Please excuse the dirty scruffy look, because I don’t normally try and get “purdy” when I’m going hiking.

blme

 

37 thoughts on “My Last Hiking Trip: A small piece of me.”

    1. I’ve seen you mention your mom before in reference to CO… Hopefully there are plenty of good memories to fall back on.
      And I feel a little liberated sharing just a small piece of me. 🙂

      How are you today? I’ve made it to 14 – 24 hr. periods so far. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nah, we live on a farm in Kentucky. We get out share of winter weather and cold, but nowhere near like Michigan or even Colorado at elevation. Some years we don’t even get much snow, although the past 4-5 years have been pretty brutal in that department.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Nope, I’m an east coast and south guy, though I’ve been out west many times. Only been to Oregon a couple of times but loved it. Love Colorado and Wyoming too. Aren’t there trails around you in the area of Wyoming you work in?

            Liked by 1 person

      1. The last really strenuous hike I did was in Yosemite in 2014. The trail was only 1.5 miles but the elevation change was ridiculous. My leg muscles were shaking on the descent. And it scared me a little! 😬

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Love the pictures. Colorado is beautiful. I’ve been skiing in the Arapahoe Basin and spent time in Denver/Centennial and Colorado Springs and Fort Carson. Absolutely breathtaking.

    I’ve missed your posts and hope you are doing well, haven’t seen much from you lately ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

