I Have Today!

Earlier, I posted about how frustrated I am.

I decided to delete it. (EDIT: I restored it from the trash.)

And as impulsive as my thought process has been lately, I almost decided to delete my blog – it wouldn’t be out of the ordinary for me.

But I want real change in my life. I have chosen to do things that are outside my comfort zone. And I’m not perfect. I’m going to make mistakes, and one would think that after being on this earth four and a half decades, it would be obvious.  But I haven’t been dealing with stress very well the past few years. But I decided that this is it. It is time to be who I am meant to be.

I feel like I’ve had this pep-talk with myself, before. And I think I’ll have it again.

I have so much support on this blog, so many people rooting for me. I’m thankful for all of that. I’m struggling in my life and I know so many of you are too. It’s comforting knowing that we can all share our struggles and receive encouragement and support.

Today, and in recent weeks… You all have been my Higher Power (a stolen concept from Alcoholics Anonymous).

But today – as difficult as I know it’s going to be – is nothing more than my chance to give it my all and do the best I am capable of doing – even if I’m going to try not to drink again.  I don’t know how I’ll meet this goal, but I WILL meet it, as well as all of the other things going on.

29 thoughts on “I Have Today!”

  1. Each day is a chance to restart or carry on. There are so many reasons to just get up and just breathe if you do nothing else.

    I have deleted my very personal blog where I let (almost) all of me out – certainly enough of me to feel uncomfortable with what I revealed. It was hard to be real with myself. It was hard to be out there with it. I had so much support and yet I struggled with my own messes. I finally just pulled the plug and took the time to heal…and let that part of me fade back into obscurity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are going to nail this presentation, I know you will! Keep giving yourself that pep talk. You aren’t the only one that has to do that just to get out of bed some days. 😉 And don’t you dare go anywhere! You have friends that really care! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you didn’t delete your blog. 😊
    I don’t want to be your higher power. I prefer to be your friend. Just saying!
    You burden yourself with trying to be perfect when no one really is. That’s what you have to delete! The unrealistic goal of being perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

