BYJ: Day 21 – Consider how you have been championed.

It’s been a while, since I last made an entry in my Beautiful You Journal, but based on the breakdown I was having yesterday and getting a visit from Hilda, I decided I needed to focus my mind and energy on something more positive – Being as Beautiful as I can be! πŸ˜›

So, today’s BYJ entry is focused on the experiences in which someone has championed me – either by myself or someone else.

The questions the author poses: Are there moments in your life where you felt championed? What were those experiences like and what did you learn from them?

Wow!Β  This can be deep, truly deep.Β  Obviously, I think the first places I had been championed was growing up – those things your parents do to help mold you into the person you are. For me, I was not a big kid. It was obvious that I was not going to be the tallest boy in my class, I wasn’t going to be the fastest, the strongest or anything that would be naturally fulfill a stereotypical boy. I enjoyed sports, but I was not “good” by any stretch of the imagination. But I had a mind that could easily be developed. And my parents did a lot to encourage me to use that mind. I remember going shopping for books, when other kids were shopping for toys. It was a requirement by my parents that each of us – myself and my sisters and brothers – would read. We were encouraged to read whatever we wanted, but we had to read. I remember going on road trips with my parents and we would play spelling games where my parents would give us words to spell and we had to spell them – eventually, they would bring a dictionary. πŸ™‚ My parents pushed me into pursuing science and math, because I enjoyed them. Granted, when I was in elementary school and middle school, I hated learning. But by the time I entered high school, my parents’ encouragement paid off and I began focusing on science and math.

There have been other times I was championed, as well, such as pursuing martial arts and weight lifting. I had coaches that were constantly focusing on my abilities and pushing me to push myself. I found a physical activity I enjoyed and performed quite well. Eventually, I would become well respected in that community and people would look to me as an inspiration for themselves. I became so incredibly proud of this endeavor.

I have also been championed, in terms of my sexuality, by so many of you readers. Granted, it took me most of my life to accept that I’m bisexual and that it is okay that I am capable of loving either a man or a woman. I had a couple of therapists that championed this in me, as well. But the last therapist I had, made me feel the most comfortable with it. It felt good to be able to discuss it openly with someone and not feel like a freak because of it. Many of you have been so incredibly encouraging – even during the times when I let out my feminine side. I’m not beginning to feel more comfortable knowing that I can be both masculine and feminine and I’m finding some comfort in being able to express it. And I have a lot of you to thank for that.

Certainly, now that I am focused on the positive aspects of my life, I can easily see all the different ways I have been championed, even those times when I had to be my own champion – just like the situation I’m dealing with in this present time. Because, in the long run, our greatest ally will be ourselves, won’t it?

5 thoughts on “BYJ: Day 21 – Consider how you have been championed.”

Leave a Reply

