Apreciation Jar (AJ): Lovely

I mentioned here, that I would begin an Appreciation Jar, except my appreciation jar is this sub-category. I’m going to fill it with entries when I’m complimented and it makes me feel really good about myself.

Today’s word is the word “Lovely”.  I’ve had it used in reference to me a few times in the past couple of days.  The reason I like it is because it seems to me a term of affection one woman would use towards another.  And I’ve mentioned before that I have a bit of a girlie side to me, so this compliment kind of appeals to that, I think.  Whatever reason, it’s not a compliment I see usually given to men (I’m a man, by the way), but I kind of take comfort in the feminine nature of the compliment.  It almost recognizes a softer side in me.

❤ I like it.

15 thoughts on “Apreciation Jar (AJ): Lovely”

  1. Well then I hope you acknowledge ‘innovative’ as a complement. As soon as I read the ‘jar’ idea, I thought what a ‘lovely’ idea! And original. So you are innovative at leading us towards positive thoughts by giving us the ‘jar’!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How did I not realize you’d already mentioned the “appreciation jar”? I’m a bit slow on the uptake sometimes.

    And being lovely does not make you “girlie.” I hate when people do that – not you. I mean how people use it as a way to diminish the supposed manliness of men. I called a guy “lovely” once, and he was quite upset until I explained to him exactly why he IS lovely. And it isn’t just women who can be lovely.

    You are lovely. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I appreciate it more than you might realize. For me, I have a bit of a dichotomy in my personality, and I have a softer side that is not traditionally assumed to be associated with men. I take more comfort in it now, than I used to and I have grown appreciative of myself in a…hmmm…for lack of a better expression…appreciative of myself in a stereotypical feminine way.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you! Truthfully, I used to try so hard to be “manly” I began ignoring emotional intelligence and anything that made “perfect” sense to me. I wasn’t happy, to tell you the truth. In the past few years, I have been through some things and I am now finding a path to some peace! This “girl” needs it! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Of course you weren’t happy. Media tends to focus on the demands placed on women, but there isn’t enough focus on how men are held to ridiculous “standards.” I don’t like standards. I like standard-breakers. Normal is fucked. Normal is carbon copy, Stepford shit. Fuck normal.

            I’ve been told so many times that I’m too much like a dude. And you know what? GOOD. Because the things they’re saying are too “dude-like” about me are my crude sense of humor and ability to roll without gossip and drama. So, thanks. I’ll happily embrace my inner-dudeness. HMPH!

            Liked by 2 people

  3. ‘Lovely’ is lovely (this is what happens when someone who was around during the 1960s gets in the discussion).
    I’m a guy (translate in UK-speak to ‘bloke’…pronounced ‘blow..k’). Women can be lovely. Men can do lovely things. and Men can be lovely and Women do lovely things.
    Nice word for the Day.
    (as my granddaughter would say ‘Ohhh…lovely!’)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

