Thoughts About This Blog and Its (or mine, really) Purpose.

So, I have nothing to write about, really.

So, I’m forcing this matter slightly, but I’m starting to think I have become a boring person.  I’m not sure if it’s my age,. my mental health, my relationship, my other non-exciting stuff or what, but I have mentioned I am running into not feeling like I have a purpose. And as I look at the themes and topics of other blogs, I find myself wondering what I can do to make mine more interesting and applicable to those who read it.

The truth of the matter is that I’m sick of my mental health.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’m being derogatory towards myself, but I am finding myself thinking that all I do is whine and bawl like a little baby, so maybe what I really need to do is to NOT concentrate on the negative aspects of my life (For crying out loud, I’ll be in Europe in a week and I should be one happy bitch because of it!) and begin focusing on positive things.  I mean, if I want to change, then I should try and incorporate that change in different places in my life, right?  So, now I’m looking at my blog and thinking that I need to write about something interesting too.

Honestly, every time I find myself becoming an expert in some topic, I go on a retreat and destroy every word I write and put out there for others to see. I’m not even sure how many total blogs I have started, but I am wanting to do something meaningful, and I’m not quite sure how/where to begin on something.  Am I going to be known as the bisexual guy that is uncomfortable with himself? What about being the guy that whines about the job he has? Am I going to be just another so-called expert in failed relationships? Aren’t there a kazillion blogs about mental health, depression and anxiety? Will I be that person that used to live life but stopped and is now an expert on everything that happened in the dark effing ages?

This gets me to thinking about life, in general. Where did I lose my purpose? When did I forget what was important to me? When did I lose passion for things? I can’t help but think that there has to be passion involved in purpose.  When you love something, you become somewhat of an authority in that particular aspect of life.  It’s interesting that the people that can teach us the most about something are the people that love it the most – whatever that “it” might be.  We tend to pay attention to the people that have a deep understanding of something, because their passion about it tends to get us excited about it.  It’s inspirational, motivational, and pulls at us to do more.

Well, that’s what I would be interested in having: Passion.

Passion = Purpose!

26 thoughts on “Thoughts About This Blog and Its (or mine, really) Purpose.”

  1. Hey!

    I’m absolutely loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. At the risk of sounding a bit discouraging, I would recommend that you slow down a bit. I realize that you are not in the best place and are anxious to feel better, but please don’t rush. In the past week you have stated that you wish to adopt a healthy lifestyle and lose weight, change your mentality, possibly come out of the closet and now you wish to find and pursue your passion. And you preferably wish for all this to happen at the same time and right now.
    I would suggest that you identify one goal and then work towards that before tackling the other goals that you wish to pursue.
    Although I am not a psychologist (far from it), it appears that your wishes originate from one source: a profound lack of confidence and self-love. Perhaps that is something you should try addressing first? I cannot look into your situation or your purse, but I would advice you to get some help with that from people other than on the internet. Although we readers can encourage you and give you advice (and we do so happily) we can only do so much in a tiny comment.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I rarely take offense, so don’t worry about sounding discouraging. I assume it comes from a place of compassion and concern. You are quite right, however, I am a bit scatter-brained and lack the ability to prioritize. And, I recognize – because I have heard it before – that I do lack confidence and self-love. It’s something I have been struggling with for a very long time.
      What I fear, however, is seeing another therapist and not solving anything…

      Like

      1. I can imagine, there are some therapists out there that very good. Perhaps you can ask around for references? Or perhaps go for a first consultation and then determine if there is click, before you commit to coming back regularly? I honestly believe that the initial click is vital and if it is not there, then there really is no point going there. You cannot be expected to open up to someone if you have the feeling that they just don’t get you.

        Also, I am sure you know this, but therapy or no therapy, do not expect changes overnight. it is going to be along and slow process, so prepare for that and don’t be discouraged if it takes a bit.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Looking for purpose in anything always depresses me, because in my heart of hearts i honestly believe there is no ‘purpose’ to pretty much anything. I don’t know how long a person last feeling they have the knowledge that everything is purposless. And I’m hesitant to say I’m doing okay currently despite it, because I know that the reason I’m hesitant to say it is because there is a undercurrent of not being okay underneath it all. It did occur to me though that to have no purpose, is actually maybe not as bad as it seems. If anything if you realy think about it, it’s a relief. Because if there is no purpose, there is no pressure to put on oneself is there? It makes the idea it may all go wrong seem like “Meh…. well… there is no purpose…so who cares?” and there is something freeing about that. The less purpose, the less you need to try too hard, and it seems sometimes being interesting, or succesful is simply to not try too hard. I dunno. I’m hardly succesful.

    I deleted a previous blog, It was a depressing place, where at first i had meant to keep my life as private as possible and only ever post my poetry (urgh *cringes at that word*) and fiction. But then I just couldn’t seem to help myself in moments of turmoil to shit post, where I essentially blabbed on about shit life was. Needless to say, I’ve gone from having 300 or so followers on a previous blog (not that any of them read them or ever liked them very much, it was always the same few people) now i have followers up to 20 something. I resigned myself to realising people just don’t want the ‘product’ i offer in the end and I just have a few loyal ‘customers’

    I like reading your blog. I find it interesting to read about the thoughts and confusions and troubles other people go through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make a completely valid point I had not, previously, considered. But I know that without purpose, I don’t feel like life makes sense – it’s a direct opposition to what you’re suggesting. But then again, I grasp that freeing concept.

      And thank you for reading, I appreciate it tremendously. ❤

      Like

  4. I follow you not because you are defined as anything in particular, but because you are so much just yourself. If finding passion and purpose is the next chapter in your book, I will be here to read it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I appreciate that. I’m thankful to be connected to your blog, as well. I think I know what my passions are, but I need to find myself, and in that, I hope to familiarize myself with who I really am.
      Thank you for following, especially since you followed my last blog. 💖

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

