Sometimes you just got to ask for help

So, I’m making an effort to get myself right – at least in my own mind. But I keep running into a road block over and over again. I want to be happy, healthy, content, satisfied, etc., etc. But I have forgotten how to be those things.  I make small changes to get where I’d like to be, but then I resort to habits that are not healthy for me physically, mentally or emotionally.  I hate it and it’s frustrating, because I am having a hard damn time being accountable to myself and I don’t have enough people in my real life that are willing to take the time to hold me to these standards – and I feel like I need that right now.

I’ve always been a go-getter when it comes to setting goals, but now I develop a bit of a “I don’t care attitude”, and it conflict with waking up and realizing I DO care. I see the problem is that I don’t know what things to tackle first, I don’t know if I should even bother trying, because it feels overwhelming to deal with all of the particular issues in my head and mind.  I was really beginning to make some strides, when I decided to squash my last blog. But here I am a couple weeks from that time and I have reverted back to some major ugly habits (okay, maybe they aren’t as bad as other people’s, but they feel horrendous to me).

So, I’m going to do something I don’t normally do: Ask for help.  I’m not sure how many of you know all of the various issues I’m referring to, but some of you are quite aware from following my last blog.  I don’t even know how to define all of the problems, which ones need to take the highest priority and which ones can be worked on over time.  Any thoughts and advice any of you are willing to give me, I’ll take.  Also, I’d love someone to hold me accountable. I really want to change and I really need to change.

11 thoughts on “Sometimes you just got to ask for help”

  1. ” problem is that I don’t know what things to tackle first” << thats the problem you need to tackle first. You need to do bite size steps.

    It's like when I look around my flat and see the mess. It's too overwhelming to tidy, so i leave it. It gets worse. It becomes more overwhelming to tidy, i leave it, it gets worse……… and the cycle continues. Part of the problem is, i'm looking at the whole flat, and saying "there is too much" you need concentrate on one room at at time, hell even one corner at a time (metaphoricaly this applies to your problems) you deal with the easiest corner first, the bit that looks less untidy than the rest and then you move onto the other bits as you go along. All bite size. You don't even necessarily deal with everything in that corner at once, you even split things in that messy corner up into even smaller bite size pieces.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Let’s start small handsome! We don’t have to eat the whole damn cake at once. What’s the rush?

    Let’s start piece by piece okay? Who cares if we aren’t there physically, that doesn’t mean anything. Sometimes that’s the real challenge. It looks easy when the person is there to hold your hand in person, but you’ll know how badly you want it when you see that you can’t have the person there to hold your hand physically. I am here for you!

    You got this! We got this! Let’s start small. Name one small thing that you want to improve.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh dear friend. I agree with MJ above. It gets overwhelming when we dont know where to start… I have had that too in my life, for a long time. So many areas needed improvement… I just decided to tackle 2 areas this summer, and then perhaps 2 more, come this fall…

    Start with one thing, my friend, set a goal, something that doesnt feel overwhelming. And then the next goal… I hope that could work.. 💜
    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree, small steps. If those become overwhelming maybe a counselor would help. But if you’ve decided to start with eating more fruits and veggies… Go to the store and pick out some of your favorites . Then set a goal, for example, of eating at least one fruit a day and one serving of veggies. Funny thing is when you start eating more of these you’ll begin to naturally crave more. I love cheese so I started putting cheese on my veggies and ended up wanting broccoli every day! I’ve found eating healthy, including drinking more water, really helps you feel better physically and emotionally.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

