The Cube Test

I follow another blogger, and actually comment from time to time.  She is a pretty interesting writer, if you enjoy humor and laughing, and things like that.  But just a bit ago, she posted this. But I’m so going to cut and paste some stuff out of this, so don’t hate me for it, but it’s kind of fun and in her words, “I love this kind of shit.”  Obviously, I changed her answers to my own, but I left her verbage to

The Cube Test

The Prompts

Imagine you are in a desert.

You come upon a cube.

How big is the cube?

What color is the cube?

How far is it away from you?

 

Somewhere nearby, imagine a ladder.

Where is the ladder located in relation to the cube?

What material is the ladder made of?

 

Picture a horse near the cube and the ladder.

What is the horse doing?

Is the horse wearing anything (such as reins or a saddle)?

Look around. Do you see any flowers?

If so, how many?

Where are the flowers in relation to the cube?

 

Now imagine there is a storm.

How do you feel about the storm?

How close is it to the cube, ladder, horse and flowers?

 

~

 

The Meaning (and my answers/reflections)

The size of the cube is a reflection of your ego. – I’m an engineer/scientist by trade, so ambiguity is difficult for me.  So, to define a size to something is entirely dependent upon my thoughts at the moment.  Today, I imagined a box, I could lift. And since I’m in the process of considering a move, it just so happens I imagined a box that was large enough to put everything into, yet small enough that I could carry it with two hands.  Since this is a reflection of ego, I can only guess that it represents me taking on so many things in my mind, but recognizing that I can only carry so much.  Is that a healthy ego?  Trust me, that box has changed in sizes over the years.

The color of the cube reflects how open you are. The lighter the color, the more open you are. – My box happened to be black.  That terrifies me a little bit.  Granted, I am pretty guarded, which I’ve had more than one therapist tell me I don’t make myself vulnerable at all.

The distance between the ladder and the cube shows how close you are with your friends. If the ladder is leaning against the cube, it shows that you and your friends trust and support each other. – Considering the thought of a black box startles me a little bit, I’d say this box was unexpectedly close.  I suppose on some level it represents the fact that I am not comfortable with how guarded I really am.  The ladder was a good distance away from the box…shockingly (this is sarcasm), I find myself lacking “real” friendships in the “real” world.  But in my thought process, I wanted to go get that ladder and prop it up on the box, so that one end of the ladder was on the box and the other extended out towards the ground away from the box.  And then I thought about chipmunks running up to get some nuts off the box.  Lesson: My fiends and I would share in nuts???  I like it.

The strength of the ladder’s material is meant to show the level of trust you have. – I pictured a ladder made of raw, untreated wood. <—these are not my words, but it’s exactly how I pictured the ladder too. And now, understanding the meaning, I think it’s time to get some coating on that sumbitch!

The horse is meant to show how controlling or inhibited you are. If your horse is tied up, has reins or a saddle, it means you are controlling in your relationships. And the wilder the horse, the more uninhibited you are as a person. – I pictured one of those brown and white horses, simply just trotting around the box and ladder watching the chipmunks feed on my nuts (Um…??? Yeah, don’t ask…). I didn’t see the horse wearing anything, because I kind of like it in a more natural state.  And this couldn’t be further from how I see myself in relationships…I’d says it’s my ideal, but not what’s occurred.

The flowers reflect the kids you want in your life. The more flowers, the more kids you want. – I love alpine/mountain flowers, for sure, so does that mean I have alpine children?  I love flowers, in general, and this reminds me that I should have kept my last blog to share the post I had about flowers.  Although, I already have children (I don’t discuss my children much, more for their protection, than any other reason). I’m not sure how to assess the accuracy on this.

The closer the flowers are to the cube, the heavier kids are on your mind. – I pictured myself laying on the flowers (poor kids).

The storm represents your fears and emotions. Far away and mild means you are calm in nature. Close and threatening means you are stressed and fearful, now and in life. – I am weird, because I love rain storms. I’m not so crazy about tornadoes, but I saw that during this exercise.  Interestingly enough, I feel like my life is a complete chaotic mess right now and I am trying to maneuver around the obstacles, which is what I saw the chipmunks doing as the storm rolled in.

I thought this was total fun!  Feel free to steal from my thievery.

4 thoughts on “The Cube Test”

  1. Ha ha! I was just reading the other blogger’s test and then yours.
    I find these personality tests fascinating, but not if you have to submit them to an employer, like I think she had to do!! Then, I really find it only creepy and invading my privacy. As I told her; most new date wouldn’t know me on such a level after a couple months.
    I think employers have gone too far vs. personal integrity. Luckily in my country this is still uncommon with employers, I only encountered it once in 15 years.

    Even if I hate companies doing this to us, I do think it is a good tool for knowing ourselves, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The size of the cube is a reflection of your ego. – i imagined a small cube that could be stepped on.

    The color of the cube reflects how open you are – I imagined light blue like how a mirror looks in certain light

    The distance between the ladder and the cube shows how close you are with your friends. If the ladder is leaning against the cube, it shows that you and your friends trust and support each – the ladder is a few feet away. I have no real life friends (by real life I mean not on the Internet, no face to face friends)

    The strength of the ladder’s material is meant to show the level of trust you have. – wood

    The horse is meant to show how controlling or inhibited you are. If your horse is tied up, has reins or a saddle, it means you are controlling in your relationships. And the wilder the horse, the more uninhibited you are as a person – I pictured a white horse with with reins but no saddle

    The flowers reflect the kids you want in your life. I pictured no flowers

    The closer the flowers are to the cube, the heavier kids are on your mind – no flowers

    The storm represents your fears and emotions. Far away and mild means you are calm in nature. Close and threatening means you are stressed and fearful, now and in life. – clouds loomed close but the idea of the horse and how majestic horses are, made me not bothered by the storm too much.

    These are one of those things where the results could be anything, and you’ll find something that describes you in it because it’s so general. It’s also how horoscopes work. People can find things that seem to describe their own life often, because the language used is so generalised. Still interesting.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

